Decorating my half bath

We recently moved into a new home and undertook a remodeling project.  Of course we chose the easiest areas first, which was the half bath.  As you can see from the “before” photo, the previous homeowner loved the color Peach!!  Anyway, the half bath was left BARE…she even took the mirror on the wall so we had quite a blank palate to work with.

Half Bath BEFORE

 

The whole first floor was this glorious color, which we quickly painted over in warm shades of tan and latte.  We chose Sherwin Williams and are quite happy with the quality and price.  So after painting we shopped around for a mirror and matching accents without overwhelming the small space.

Half Bath AFTER

 

We still need a little something for the opposite wall but I think we are well on way in completing this project to compliment our taste and family’s lifestyle!  We love it!!  🙂

 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cwat8768
    Feb 06, 2013 @ 16:04:57

    Looks good! I am trying to get ideas on curtains for my half bath that has a window that looks out into the street. I really want romans, however trying to find the right colors is crazy.

    BTW-Sherwin Williams makes this really neat color Greige that is cute!

    Reply

    • amyumphreyathome
      Feb 06, 2013 @ 16:19:47

      Thanks!! I hear you on choosing curtains…so many to choose from 🙂 We were pleased with the Latte but will have to check out Greige….need to paint the 2nd floor rooms, still. Keep me posted on your curtain adventure and good luck!

      Reply

      • cwat8768
        Feb 06, 2013 @ 16:22:31

        The color looked very nice! The greige really opened up the bathroom. I am getting ready to post pictures of our projects and post so I can share as well. 🙂

        Keep posting pictures!

      • amyumphreyathome
        Feb 06, 2013 @ 16:46:07

        I’ll need to start following you to get some inspiration! 🙂

  2. thegreatzambini
    Feb 10, 2013 @ 19:54:19

    That does look relatively easy. I used a bright icy blue in my powder room, just because it seemed to liven the space up, but I know some people love their brown neutrals. I`m a bit weird because I tend to think of rainy day colors as neutrals, and browns and beiges as very strong colors.

    Reply

    • amyumphreyathome
      Feb 10, 2013 @ 22:39:14

      My hubby’s obsessed with neutrals and rarely steps outside that comfort zone. This half bath totally worked for us and I’m trying to pull in the merlot and gold colors to help brighten it. Icy Blue sounds pretty and rather calming actually! Years ago I wanted a purple bathroom…I hated it! Probably just the shade I chose, but stayed away from it since! Live & learn! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

